Literature

Cosy books to keep you going over Christmas

0 195


Featured image: Lucy Vincent


Over the colder seasons, we all like to prioritise our comfort, whether that’s at home or on the go. For fellow readers out there, carrying a book with us everywhere is a great source of comfort. Knowing that we’re able to use those 15 minutes between classes to finish that last chapter, or to start a new book, is a lovely way to slow down and look after ourselves.

What could be better than a selection of cosy, feel-good reads to sink our teeth into, to get us into the Christmas spirit? Here are our top recommendations here at aAh!


The Christmas Appeal by Janice Hallett

Let’s start things off with a festive murder mystery to keep you entertained and exhilarated. This cleverly spun plot follows the intricate investigation of how it all goes wrong in the small town of Lower Lockwood as the Fairway Player’s pantomime season begins. Great for fans of Richard Osman and Agatha Christie.


The Winter Spirits: Ghostly Tales for Frosty Nights by Bridget Collins, Imogen Hermes Gowar, Natasha Pulley, et. al.

If you’re not in the mood for a novel, this short-story collection entails haunting, ghostly tales. Whether set in a mysterious Tuscan villa, or a remote island in Scotland, these stories are the perfect companion for frosty nights, and ones to take your time with! Perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern, M. A. Kuzniar and Ava Reid.


The Nutcracker by E. T. A. Hoffman

In the mood for a Classic? ‘The Nutcracker’ is the perfect Christmas fairy tale, and it’s one we are all familiar with, perhaps due to Tchaikovsky’s ballet production or, if you’re like me, from the 2001 Barbie movie ‘The Nutcracker’. This quintessential Christmas story is something anybody can pick up and enjoy. The perfect choice for fans of the Oscar Wilde classic ‘The Picture of Dorian Gray’, or ‘A Night Before Christmas’.


A Merry Little Meet Cute by Julie Murphy, Sierra Simone

For fans of Hallmark movies and small-town romances, this steamy holiday rom-com is the perfect title for when you’re cosied up on the sofa with a warm drink, ready to get wrapped up in the story of Bee Hobbes. When Bee begins filming for her upcoming Christmas movie, the last person she expects to be her co-star is Nolan Shaw, an ex-boyband member with a penchant for trouble. If you love authors Tessa Bailey, Talia Hibbert or Erin Sterling, you’ll love this one!


The Christmas Guest by Peter Swanson

A gripping, genre-bending novella with terror and mystery surrounding all its key players – what’s not to love? Across the span of this story’s timeline, from 1989 to modern-day England, readers follow student Ashley Smith, unraveling the ghostly mysteries in her family’s Cotswold manor house, Starvewood Hall. If you found yourself loving ‘The Christmas Appeal’, this short book is a great choice, especially if you’re in the mood for more intrigue.


One Day In December by Elsie Silver

For those of you who enjoy a holiday romance, this is an unforgettable love story. Laurie has never believed in love at first sight, but when she spots Jack through the bus window, she thinks he might be ‘the one’. Skip to one year later, Laurie’s best friend, Sarah, introduces her to the love of her life, none other than Jack himself. This love story follows the three characters across ten years of love and heartbreak. Great for readers who enjoy an engaging plot with their romance; similar to books written by Emily Henry and Taylor Jenkins Reid.


Harry Potter Official Christmas Cookbook and Roast Figs, Sugar Snow by Elena Craig and Jody

RevensonPerusing the array of Christmas cookbooks currently on sale is a great way to get into the festive spirit such as these two great suggestions. These two suggestions will leave you imagining all the tasty snacks and warm meals that Christmas will bring before you know it. If you’re looking for a family-fun activity post-Christmas dinner, why not try out The Very British Problems Christmas Quiz Book by Rob Temple. This one is great to enjoy around the dinner table or after watching some telly with friends or family.

About the author / 

Aimie-Ligaya

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More News Stories: